Rockmelt

I installed an early pre-release version on the Rockmelt social media browser a while ago but didn’t make much use of it. However the public beta has just been announced. I have installed it on my new PC – but what benefits does it provide? It seems to place one’s social network at the heart of the browser, with icons of one’s contacts included on the edge of the window, so you can see who is online.  But whilst I feel that a social network is important to support one’s professional activities, I still prefer to opt into such activities, as there will be times when I want to be alone!

Note that when installing the browser I noticed the Tweet icon. It seems that there have been 29.9K tweets which will have helped to promote the browser.  Evidence of the importance of Twitter in promoting an application?

