Further Thoughts On Web Annotation Tools

I recently published blog posts about the Bo.lt and Markup.io Web annotation tools.   Tony Hirst subsequently alerted me to the Annotatit.org service which made me wonder whether we are seeing evidence of potential growth in this area and what the implications may be.  Such services are, however, nothing new – I can recall making use of the Wikalong plugin for Firefox back in 2004 and 2005.  But the service ceased to be developed in 2006 and any annotations which were created could have been lost (although when I used the service for note-taking at a workshop on Beyond Email I made sure I copied the content to the UKOLN Web server shortly after the event).

So will history repeat itself or will the current generation of annotation services take off?

