The Periodic Table Of SEO Ranking Factors 

A tweet this morning alerted me to “The Periodic Table Of SEO Ranking Factors” which provides an infographic in the form of a periodic table for best practices for search engine optimisation.  An interesting approach to communicating complex ideas.

In the comments it was pointed out that:

As I wrote above, I appreciate the attempts at simplicity that infographics like this one provide, as well as the search engine ranking factor opinion surveys that have come out in recent years, but attempts to reduce the complexity of what search engines actually do can mask the complexity of what they actually do.

From my perspective I feel it is better to start off with the over-simplifications and then build on this once the basics have been mastered.  It would be interesting to see if something similar can be produced for the areas myself and my colleagues are involved in.